Star Fox 64 3D Preview

I played one complete level of Star Fox 64 3D at Comic-Con. It was really cool, but not quite as impressive as Super Mario 3D Land or Mario Kart 7. It reminded me of a much improved/more exciting version of PilotWings Resort.

One thing I need to say before we get started is that this is the first Starfox game I have ever played (how can I call myself a Nintendo fan!?! Well I suppose I have never played a Metroid game either… What’s wrong with me?!?), so I don’t have a background of love for the series. I am very biased when it comes to Mario, I am one of the biggest super-fans you’ll ever meet, so this preview will be a bit different from my two previous from Comic-Con.

Now on with the preview.


The 3D effects were not as pronounced and obvious as they were in PilotWings Resort, Super Mario 3D Land, or Mario Kart 7, but they were present and helpful. They were not over powering, but instead they were just there. It seems they learned there lesson from the sometimes over powering 3D in PilotWings Resort. They added another dimension allowing you to look “deep into the screen” without bugging your eyes.

Gameplay was very engaging and fun. You fly your Arwing with the circle pad and shoot stuff. Flight games aren’t really my thing, but I still found the game quite fun. Shooting down all the enemy fighters was very fun and worked very well.

Toward the end of the level you run into a giant robot. It took me some time to figure out his weakness, which I suppose is good.


In the level I played, Falco, Slippy, and Peppy were flying with me. They gave actual voiced commentary (which is rare in video games) that was also nicely presented on the bottom screen. They also helped me shoot down enemies, but in return, I had to shoot bogeys that chased them.

Controls handled well. Not amazing, but just good. In my 15 minutes or so playing, I didn’t use the motion control method, I stuck with the standard buttons/circle pad and it seemed to work very well. I found myself pressing the wrong buttons many times, but I’m sure after more play, it would become second nature. Maybe it’s because I’m not used to flight games, or it could be that there is a bit of a learning curve, most likely though it’s a mix of both.

The coolest thing about Star Fox 64 (in my opinion) was the multiplayer mode (which I was not able to try). With a single game cartridge you are able to play with 4 players locally. One of the coolest features is that the 3DS’s inward facing camera takes video of you and displays it above your fighter as you fly, so you can see the reactions of the people you’re battling with when you shoot them down.


Starfox 64 3D seems to be a good game. It has nice 3D, it’s fun, and it has great multiplayer battle capabilities. I may have to pick it up after it’s released on September 9th. (Yes, in case anyone is paying attention, that must mean I gave in and bought a 3DS – more to come on that!)

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

