Lego Star Wars Sets from New York Toy Fair 2012

The Lego Star Wars line debuted some great sets at the New York Toy Fair (Lego also renewed their license with Lucas for 10 more years of Lego Star Wars!). Although most of these are terrifyingly overpriced, there are some real amazing sets here.

9496 Desert Skiff

Price: $24.99

Piece Number: 213

Available: In August

My Opinions: My favorite set in the new line. With a pretty grand price per part for Star Wars, and a selection of KILLER characters (Boba Fett, Lando Calrissian, and Luke in Jedi garb!) this one is on the top of my list.

More media here.

9497 Republic Striker-class Starfighter

Price: $44.99

Piece Number: 376

Available: In August

My Opinions: One of the two new sets based off the Star Wars: The Old Republic games. I’m not familiar with too much of the extended universe (other than the Force Unleashed games), so I cannot tell you how accurate it is. What I can tell you is that it is a really cool starship with quite a few excellent characters.

More media here.

9498 Saesee Tiin’s Jedi Starfighter

Price: $29.99

Piece Number: 244

Available: In August

My Opinions: Sasesee Tiin was one of my favorite Jedi in the Clone Wars show (SPOILER: Why did they have to kill him?!?) and his minifig is super awesome. The ship is the same (or nearly the same) Jedi ship as the boatload of other Jedi ships Lego has made, just in a different color.

More media here.

9499 Gungan Sub

Price: $69.99

Piece Number: 465

Available: In August

My Opinions: Known to Lego and Star Wars fans not as the Gungan Sub, but as the set to include Queen Amidala! Yes folks, this is the first time Queen Amidala has ever appeared in a Lego set. All will buy this entirely for her, even if the set itself it stupidly overpriced.

More media here.

9500 Sith Fury-class Interceptor

Price: $89.99

Piece Number: 748

Available: In August

My Opinions: The other of the two sets based off Star Wars: The Old Republic, this one contains some utterly fantastic minifigs who get to ride in an awesome Sith ship! Yay!

More media here.

9525 Pre Vizla’s Mandalorian Fighter

Price: $39.99

Piece Number: N/A

Available: In August only at Target

My Opinions: I have not seen this ship in action, though I can tell you now that it’s quite epic. What a nice pointed nose and what cool positionable wings.

More media here.

9509 Star Wars Advent Calendar

Price: $39.99

Piece Number: 234

Available: In September

My Opinions: So who would lead the charge following Santa Yoda in the line of gift givers from a galaxy far far away? Why, Darth Maul of course! And he’s even brought you a little R2 snowman. How kind of him. Though I’m not sure how comfortable you are with a sith lord coming down your chimney…

More media here.

9515 The Malevolence

Price: $119.99

Piece Number: 1,101

Available: In August

My Opinions: Grevious’s flagship during the Clone Wars, while terribly off scale, looks incredibly epic with a very comfortable price per part and a cast of characters worthy of kings.

More media here.

9516 Jabba’s Palace

Price: $119.99

Piece Number: 717

Available: In August

My Opinions: Wowzers! What a cool set! Even though that part number is so low, the pieces are big enough to justify purchasing this set… right? New molds for a bunch of figs, and a cast worthy of gods (not kings mind you. That was the previous set).

More media here.

9677 X-wing Starfighter & Yavin 4

Price: $9.99

Piece Number: 77

Available: In August

My Opinions: Yet another micro X-wing. Very cute!

More media here.

9678 Twin-Pod Cloud Car & Bespin

Price: $9.99

Piece Number: 78

Available: In August

My Opinions: Ooh! Mini cloud car! Now your micro Bespin can have official transport!

More media here.

9679 AT-ST & Endor

Price: $9.99

Piece Number: 65

Available: In August

My Opinions: We all need a mini AT-ST and model of Endor don’t we?

More media here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Lego Star Wars Sets from New York Toy Fair 2012”

  1. Kevin Brown Says:

    Wow, these are AMAZING! I love these sets, and I have seen little glimpses of these here and there, so, my guess is they aren’t rumored!

  2. Nathan M.r Says:

    😀 🙂 😉 :O SO COOL!

Leave a Reply

