Dan Harmon is No Longer Community’s Showrunner: An Angry Rant

Dan Harmon: the guru behind Community, the showrunner, the creator, the one who INVENTED Troy and Abed, the one who has made it all happen, has been kicked out of his own show thanks to some big heartless, mindless, corporate idiots at Sony and NBC.

Dan Harmon was removed from his position without the decency of even a phone call. In fact, Dan Harmon wasn’t contacted by anyone. But, hey, don’t believe me…Dan Harmon says it best, “The important one is this quote from Bob Greenblatt in which he says he’s sure I’m going to be involved somehow, something like that.  That’s a misquote.  I think he meant to say he’s sure cookies are yummy, because he’s never called me once in the entire duration of his employment at NBC.  He didn’t call me to say he was starting to work there, he didn’t call me to say I was no longer working there…” Nice, real classy Sony/NBC.

Should we expect the show to be as good without him? Most certainly not. He was the one who made who made it happen. As he said in his tumblr…”I was what you might call a….hands on producer…I’m not saying you can’t make a good version of Community without me, but I am definitely saying that you can’t make my version of it unless I have the option of saying “it has to be like this or I quit” roughly 8 times a day.” Will the same kind of stuff happen under the rule of other people? I highly, highly doubt it.

And to Sony and NBC, the guy with the focus, passion, vision, and dream SHOULD NEVER BE THE ONE THAT GETS FIRED. So what if he’s not that easy to work with. I bet you can say that about any artistic genius throughout time. Dumb asses.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

